Osimhen, Ighalo and Dennis are on the list of Nigeria’s 28 players at CAN 2022

Osimhen, Ighalo and Dennis are on the list of Nigeria's 28 players at CAN 2022

Osimhen, Ighalo and Dennis are on the list of Nigeria’s 28 players at CAN 2022

Nigeria have named a final 28-man roster for the 2022 Super Eagles squad for the 2022 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) in Cameroon. The roster includes Victor Osimhen of Napoli, Emmanuel Dennis of Watford and 26 other players.

The Nigerian Football Federation (NFF) announced the roster of Super Eagles coach Augustine Eguavoen for the 33rd CAN which will take place in Cameroon from January 9 to February 6, 2022 in a statement on Saturday.

Read Also :  EPL: Fernandes names Man United star who works hard, doesn’t get a lot of media attention

Nigeria, three-time winner of the CAN, will face in Garoua, seven times and record holder, Egypt, Sudan and the beginners of Guinea Bissau. a frantic pace.

Eguavoen has selected four goalkeepers, nine defenders, five midfielders and 10 forwards to aim for Nigeria’s fourth AFCON title in Cameroon.

Goalkeepers Maduka Okoye and Francis Uzoho, defenders Kenneth Omeruo, Olaoluwa Aina and Abdullahi Shehu, midfielders Joseph Ayodele-Aribo and Chidera Ejuke and forwards Moses Simon, Odion Ighalo and Samuel Chukwueze are also on the list.

There is a return to the squad for former U17 World Cup-winning captain Kelechi Nwakali, forward Emmanuel Dennis and 2016 Olympics star Sadiq Umar.

Read Also :  UCL: Real Madrid to be without one key player for Man City clash in Spain

The NFF said all invited players are expected to arrive at the camp in Nigeria’s federal capital Abuja on December 29, and UK-based players are expected to start arriving on Monday January 3, 2022.

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands).

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa).

Read Also :  EPL: Chelsea begs UK govt to sell tickets as hard times bite

Midfielder: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Galsgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain).

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moïse Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Emmanuel Dennis (Watford FC, England).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.