Carabao Cup final: Kepa gamble fails as Liverpool beat Chelsea to win trophy

Liverpool have emerged the winners of this year’s Carabao Cup final.

Jurgen Klopp’s men beat Chelsea 11-10 on penalties on Sunday, to win the trophy for a record ninth time.

The Reds are now three trophies short of an unprecedented quadruple this season.

Liverpool won in dramatic style as Chelsea boss Thomas Tuchel saw his late gamble backfire.

Read Also :  Real reason I dumped England for Nigeria – Leicester City’s Lookman

After 20 successful penalties, Caoimhin Kelleher was the Liverpool hero, first stepping up to make it 11-10 and then seeing Kepa Arrizabalaga smash his spot kick high over the bar to settle an extraordinary game.

Tuchel introduced Kepa in the 119th minute ahead of the shootout. However the Spaniard failed to save any kick and missed the crucial one himself.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.